Culcreuch Castle Hotel Logo

Culcreuch Castle Hotel

Rooms

Culcreuch Castle Hotel has ten bedrooms within the main Castle building, each individually furnished and decorated.

All are en-suite, with Free Sat TV, internet access and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. Most command quite unsurpassed views over the lawns, loch, woodlands of the estate and beyond to a kaleidoscope of hills and forests comprising the Endrick Valley and the Campsie Fells.

Each Castle Room has it's own name and if you ask for a particular one when you book, we will do our best to satisfy your request. Our online reservations system shows which rooms are available on your dates and you can check or book a specific Suite or Bedroom from there.

Click a room name below to find out more.

  • Deluxe

  • Baron Suite

    Originally the private quarters of the 18th and 19th century Barons of Culcreuch, the Baron Suite is the largest of the Castle bedrooms and occupies a prime position on the top (third) floor overlooking the front of the Castle with breathtaking views across the front lawns and the loch to the Campsie Fells beyond.

    Accommodation includes a large 4-poster bed with lounge area and a large bathroom with corner bath and separate shower.

  • Honeymoon Suite

    Situated at the top of the Castle, within the battlements area of the original 14th century Tower, the Honeymoon Suite exudes comfort and elegance both in decor and its dark ornate hardwood furnishings.

    Originally this was part of the Castle where warlike confrontation was the order of the day but nowadays this former role has been replaced by more romantic activities.

    The Honeymoon Suite accommodation includes a large 4-poster bed with canopy, a small lounge area and large bathroom with corner bath and separate shower.

  • Napier Suite

    This second-floor 4-poster suite overlooks the front of the Castle and the loch, with stunning views to the Campsie Fells beyond.

    It has a bathroom with corner bath and separate shower, plus all the usual in-room facilities, such as TV and tea/coffee making.

    In 1632 Culcreuch Estate was purchased by Robert Napier, second son of Lord Napier of Merchiston. The Napier family held the estate for five generations and are credited with building the north and east extensions to the original tower in 1721.

  • Historical

  • Chinese Bird Room

    This room is possibly the most unique in the Castle and is situated on the second floor within the six foot walls of the original 14th century Tower Keep.

    Its walls are covered in hand-painted Chinese wallpaper. The design depicting colourful birds and exotic palms was painted onto rolls in China. It was brought over to Fintry in 1723, and has been in position on the walls ever since.

    It is believed to be the only example in Scotland of genuine antique Chinese wallpaper and many visitors come to Culcreuch just to see it.

    The room is full of antique ornaments and furniture, mainly French and made of Satinwood, including the half-tester double bed.

    The original garderobe, built into the six foot thick walls, has been cleverly converted to form a small shower room.

    Strict conservation laws place severe constraints on what can be "changed" or "updated" within this unique Room and guests are asked to take this into account whilst enjoying the special ambience that the Chinese Bird Room evokes.

  • The Keep

    Overlooking the Estate's North Drive and an array of exotic trees, glimpses of rabbits playing between the daffodils and rhododendrons are a common sight from this second-floor room situated in the original Tower with its six feet thick outside walls.

    Accommodation offered is a double 4-poster bed with en-suite shower room.

  • Standard

  • Seton of Gargunnock

    The Seton of Gargunnock Room is a small, warm and cosy second-floor room, overlooking the front lawns and the loch with stunning views of the Campsie Fells.

    It offers a double bed with separate shower room and all in-room facilities.

    The last of the Galbraiths to own Culcreuch was Robert, 17th Chief of the Galbraiths, who was forced to flee to Ireland, bankrupt, to escape his debts.

    He gave the estate to his brother-in-law, Alexander Seton of Gargunnock, in 1624 in settlement of monies owed.

    Later the same year, Alexander Seton was appointed a judge and took the title Lord Kilcreuch. Soon his successful career necessitated selling the estate to be nearer Edinburgh and in 1632 he sold it to Robert Napier.

  • Menzies

    The Menzies Room is the only bedroom on the first floor and it offers a super king bed with en-suite facilities including a bath with shower over.

    The view from the room looks over to the converted stable block, now Culcreuch Castle Hotel's Function Hall, with glimpses of the ancient Pinetum and views down the South Drive.

    In 1890 the last of the Spiers family sold Culcreuch to Mr. J. C. Dunwaters, whose family had farmed in the parish and who was one of the proprietors of the Outram Press (once famous as owners and publishers of the Glasgow Herald).

    In 1901 he sold the estate to Walter (later Sir Walter) Menzies. The particulars of the sale can be seen framed on the passageway wall on the ground floor in the Castle. The Menzies family owned Culcreuch estate until 1984.

  • Family Snug

    Situated in its own wing on the east side of the Castle, the Family Snug comprises a suite of double-bedded main room, twin full-size bunk-bedded room and family en-suite including a bath with shower over.

    It overlooks the courtyard building, Pinetum and South Drive, and also has a view to the rear of the Castle from the en-suite.

  • Spiers

    The Spiers Room on the second floor overlooks the Pinetum, lawns and quadrangle to the east of the Castle with views down the South Drive. The en-suite facilities include a bath with shower over.

    The Napiers sold Culcreuch to Peter Spiers (a relation by marriage) in 1769 for a reputed £15,000. Peter Spiers was a Glasgow merchant and his arrival marked the entry of Fintry into the world of industry. He established a cotton spinning, wool weaving mill and a distillery in Fintry.

    This short excursion into the industrial world spawned the village of Fintry as we know it today. The development included in addition the new road bridge by the south lodge entrance and all the houses on the main street which were built to house the imported workers from Dewsbury in Yorkshire.

    The advent of steam power and the cost of transport killed the enterprise around the middle of the 19th century.

  • Battlements Room

    The smallest bedroom in the Castle itself, the Battlements Room, is nevertheless very cosy, offering a small double bed and ensuite bathroom with shower.

    It is set at the top of the original 14th century Tower.

    Its large skylight window (fitted with slatted blinds) makes the Battlements Room cheerfully bright but it is also quaint, with traditional fireplace and antique furniture.